Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
Nobel prize - Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore
Nobel prize


What’s in news?

The 2019 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine has been announced.

Key data’s:

  • The 2019 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to scientists William G Kaelin, Jr, Peter J Ratcliffe and Gregg L Semenza.
  • This year 2019 is the 110th prize in the category that has been awarded since 1901. 
  • The trio will receive their prize from King Carl XVI Gustaf at a formal ceremony in Stockholm on December 10.
  • They receiving the prize on the account of their discovery in “how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability”.
  • They established the basis for our understanding of how oxygen levels affect cellular metabolism and physiological function.
  • Their research paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anaemia, cancer and many other diseases.
  • A total of prize amount (9 Lakh 14 thousand US dollar) will be shared by these three. A prize may not be shared among more than three individuals but the prize can be awarded to an organization of more than three peoples.

About Nobel Prize:

  • The prize was awarded annually to the laureates who made their contributions in the field of Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine since 1901 in Stockholm, Sweden.
  • The Prize in Economic Sciences is awarded according to the same principles as for the Nobel Prizes that have been.
  • The prize is not awarded posthumously but if a person is awarded a prize and dies before receiving it, the prize may still be presented.
  • The awardees were selected by the Norwegian Nobel Committee which comprised of 5 members who were appointed by the Norwegian Parliament.
  • The Norwegian Nobel Committee were headquarter at Oslo, Norway.

What it contains?

  • The awardee receives a gold medal, a diploma (certificate) and a sum of money that has been decided by the Nobel Foundation.
  • The gold medals made before 1980 were struck in 23-carat gold, and later in 18-carat green gold plated with a 24-carat gold coating.
  • As of 2018, a total of 590 prizes were given to 935 laureates (27 organizations and 908 individuals).


Links to note:

1 Comment

  1. Paul Smades 04/06/2020

    I just want to mention I am new to weblog and truly savored your web-site. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You surely come with very good stories. Thanks a lot for revealing your website.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube