Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
Lotus - Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore - UPSC


What’s in news?

The symbol of lotus being printed on the Indian Passport for the security feature.

Key data’s:

  • A day after opposition members in Lok Sabha raised the issue of lotus being printed on new the ministry of external affairs said it was part of the enhanced security features to identify fake passports.
  • Also mentioned that, the other national symbol such as national flower or national animal, also be used for the security features in rotational basis.
  • The question was asked in the Zero hour of the Parliamentary session.
  • The new passports with lotus symbol being distributed in the Kozhikode in Kerala.
  • These security features have been introduced as part of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) guidelines.
  • Indian citizens who is the bearer of Indian Passport can travel internationally and serves as proof of Indian citizenship as per the Passports Act (1967).

International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO):

  • Established year: The organisation was established in 1944.
  • Chicago Convention: The organisation was established by signing a Convention on International Civil Aviation on 7th December 1944 in Chicago. This convention is popularly known as “Chicago Convention”.
  • HQ: Montreal, Canada.
  • It is a specialized agency of United Nations.
  • Members: 193 members – India is a member of ICAO.
  • Objective: To foster the planning and development of international air transport so as to ensure the safe and orderly growth of international civil aviation throughout the world.
  • International Civil Aviation Day” is being celebrated on 7 December.

Data to know:

Zero Hour:

  • The zero Hour was introduced in 1962 in the Indian Parliament.
  • The time immediately following the Question Hour has come to be known as “Zero Hour“.
  • It starts at around 12 noon and members can, with prior notice to the Speaker, raise issues of importance during this time. 
  • Discussions on important Bills, the Budget, and other issues of national importance take place from 2 pm onwards.

Question Hour:

  • The first hour of a sitting session of India’s Lok Sabha devoted to questions that Members of Parliament raise about any aspect of the administrative activity.

Version of the Passport:

  • The first version of the first passport issued in the year of 1920.
  • And the current version of the current version issued in the year of 1986.

Types of passport:

  • Ordinary / Type P PassportDark blue in Color – Issued to ordinary citizens for ordinary travel.
  • Official / Type S PassportWhite in color – Issued to individuals representing the Indian government on official business.
  • Diplomatic / Type D PassportMaroon in color – issued to Indian diplomats, top ranking government officials and diplomatic couriers.


Links to note:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube