Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore,tnpsc,coaching center,bank exam centres,UPSC
scst act


The month of March and April are in the heat of election. It is important to know the facts about Elections and ECI.                        

Key data’s:

The new provisions introduced in the election 2019 are;

  • Photo Electoral Rolls: Faces of the candidates along with their party symbol to be displayed on the electronic voting machines throughout the country. Although India had first gone to polls with photo electoral rolls in 2009. Assam, Jammu & Kashmir and Nagaland did not have it. But now, all the states and union territories have photo electoral rolls
  • Mobile Application: Voters can use an Android app “C-VIGILto report any violation of code of conduct & malpractice during elections and send it to the Election Commission. A government official is duty bound to respond to the complaint within 100 minutes
  • 1950 is the voter helpline number to check your name and election-related information.
  • Voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) for verification of voting in all polling booths in the country for the first time in general elections. This was introduced in 2013 and used in 2014 assembly election.
  • The 12 valid documents for proof:
  • Electoral photo identity card (epic),
  • Passport,
  • Aadhaar card,
  • Driving licence,
  • Pan card,
  • Service identity cards with photographs issued to employees by central/state government or PSUs and public limited companies,
  • Passbooks issued by bank or post office
  • Smart card issued by the registrar general of India under national populations register.
  • Other approved documents are MNREGA job card, health insurance smart card issued under the scheme of ministry of labour, pension document with photograph and official identity cards issued to MPs, MLAs and MLCs.


  • VVPAT used for verification of voting. VVPAT machines, attached to EVMs, dispense a slip with the name of the candidate and his/her party symbol each time a vote is cast.
  • This slip appears on a small window for seven seconds and then drops into a sealed container.


  • The elections are conducted by the Election Commission of India (ECI).
  • Article 324 speaks about the ECI.
  • It’s a permanent & independent body conducts free & fair elections to the Parliament, State Legislatures, President and Vice-President.
  • It’s an all India body common for both States and the centre.


  • Chief Election Commissioner: Act as a Chairman. Currently Sunil Arora is the CEC succeeded Om Prakash Rawat.
  • 2 Election commissioners: Act as members. The no. 2 members were introduced since 1993.
  • They are appointed by the President of India.
  • Regional Election Commissioners are appointed to assist the Election Commission. They can be removed only by the President on the recommendations of the CEC.


  • They experience tenure of 6 years / 65 years of age. And also they have a secure of tenure.
  • The service condition can’t be changed, as per the President’s need.
  • No qualifications are mentioned in the constitution for the appointment of election commissioners.
  • He is not debarring from any other appointment by the GoI after his retirement.


  • ECs functions can be divided into 3 parts namely administrative function, Advisory functions, Quasi-judicial function.
  • The hierarchical order of Election Commission is;

ECI (CEC, EC) — Regional Election Commissioners — Election commission of state –Chief Electoral officer — District Collector for a district — Returning officer for each constituency.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube