Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore,tnpsc,coaching center,bank exam centres,UPSC
Laureus World Sports Awards

Overview of the Laureus Sports Awards 2019

The Laureus World Sports Awards return to Monaco on Monday 18 February 2019, where the cream of global sport – past, present and future – will gather to celebrate another special year of sport.


  • Novak Djokovic has now won four World Sportsman of the Year trophy at Laureus Sports awards
  • Japanese tennis star Naomi Osaka won the World Breakthrough of the Year Award
  • France national football team received a second World Team of the Year Award

Tennis world No. 1 Novak Djokovic of Serbia won his fourth Laureus World Sportsman of the Year here on Monday, and American record-holding gymnast Simone Biles bagged the World Sportswoman of the Year Award thanks to her dominant world championship performance last year.

Djokovic triumphed in tough competition against football star duo of Kylian Mbappe and Luka Modric, Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton, Kenyan marathon world record-breaker Eliud Kipchoge and NBA superstar LeBron James.

“A Laureus Award is what every athlete wants to win, and this one is a huge honour for me. Being among so many sporting greats here tonight, and hearing about the inspirational work Laureus is doing around the world, gives this Award a special meaning for me,” said Djokovic.

The fourth Sportsman of the Year trophy has moved Djokovic level with athletics icon Usain Bolt, just one shy of Swiss tennis legend Roger Federer’s record, reports Xinhua.

After returning from an elbow surgery, Djokovic won the Wimbledon and the US Open in 2018.

Djokovic added that reflecting on that journey, “it seems like a fairytale story.”

Biles won four gold, one silver and one bronze medals at the 2018 World Championships. Also the World Sportsmwoman of the Year winner in 2017, she made history by becoming the first woman to win four all-around world gymnastics championships.

Biles has a record 14 career world titles under her name at the age of 21. She went ahead of winter sports stars Ester Ledecka and Mikaela Shiffrin, Grand Slam tennis champions Simona Halep and Angelique Kerber, and four-time ironman world champion Daniela Ryf in the vote.

Chinese double amputee climber Xia Boyu received the most votes globally to become the 2019 Laureus Sporting Moment of the Year winner.

Xia had lost both his legs in 1975 during his first attempt to reach the world’s highest peak of Qomolangma due to frostbite. He challenged the summit in 2014, 2015 and 2016 as well, but his dreams were shattered owing to avalanche, earthquake and bad weather respectively. He finally made it in his fifth attempt on May 14, 2018, becoming the first Chinese double amputee climber to have reached the summit of Qomolangma.


FIFA World Cup winners France became the first national football team to win a second Laureus World Team of the Year Award. Their coach Didier Deschamps was on site to accept the award.

Japan’s first Grand Slam tennis singles champion Naomi Osaka took the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award. The 21-year-old is now number one in the world after recently winning the Australian Open.

Golfing star Tiger Woods received the Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award for winning the Tour Championship, his third Laureus Award after the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year accolade in 2000 and 2001.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube