Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/framework/functions-wordpress.class.php on line 258

Deprecated: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/js_composer/include/classes/core/class-vc-mapper.php on line 111

Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
‘Godfathers of AI’ Won Turing Award i.e. Nobel Prize of Computing – Shanmugam IAS Academy
Turing Award

‘Godfathers of AI’ Won Turing Award i.e. ‘Nobel Prize of Computing’

Three researchers Yoshua Bengio, Geoffrey Hinton and Yann LeCun were awarded 2018 Turing Award, known as “Nobel Prize” of computing. They were awarded for their conceptual and engineering breakthroughs in artificial intelligence (AI).

About the recipients

Bengio is a professor at the University of Montreal in Canada, Hinton is vice president and engineering fellow, Google and professor emeritus at the University of Toronto, and LeCun is a professor at New York University and vice president and chief AI scientist at Facebook.

Hinton, LeCun, and Bengio have worked together and independently. LeCun performed postdoctoral work under Hinton’s supervision, and LeCun and Bengio worked together at Bell Labs beginning in the early 1990s.

About their work

These three researchers are known as godfathers of AI. Working independently, they have developed conceptual foundations for AI to make machines learn like humans. They have identified surprising phenomena through experiments and contributed engineering advances that demonstrated practical advantages of deep neural networks. Their ideas have resulted in major technological advances, and their methodology is now the dominant paradigm in the field.

Neural networks

They are electronic engines that power tasks such as speech and facial recognition. They are also critical component of robotic systems that are automating wide range of other human activity. They help computers to recognise patterns and simulate human intelligence.

Turing Award

  • It is annual prize given by Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) to individual for contributions of lasting and major technical importance to computer field.
  • It is generally recognized as the highest distinction in computer science and the “Nobel Prize of computing”. It was established in 1966.
  • It is named after British mathematician Alan Turing, who is often credited as being the key founder of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence.
  • It carries monetary award of US $1 million funded by Google.
  • Its first recipient, in 1966, was Alan Perlis. Its first female recipient was Frances E. Allen of IBM in 2006. Indian-American computer scientist Raj Reddy had won it in 1994.

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /var/www/wp-content/themes/univero/template-parts/author-bio.php on line 3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube