Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/framework/functions-wordpress.class.php on line 258

Deprecated: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/js_composer/include/classes/core/class-vc-mapper.php on line 111

Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

On October 25, 2018, the 2-day 11th Global Agriculture Summit 2018 concluded in New Delhi.


It aimed to provide the platform towards facilitating farmers connect with the technologies, markets, industry, institutions and the Governmental programs.

Key Points:

  1. The Global Summit and Award ceremony was organized by Indian Council of Food and Agriculture (ICFA) with support of Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare, Ministry of Food Processing Industriesand Ministry of Commerce.
  2. It was inaugurated by Secretary Agriculture and Co-operation, Sanjay Agrawal.
  3. The theme of the summit was: ‘Connecting Farmers to Market’.
  4. It was convened by:
  • M J Khan, Chairman, ICFA,
  • Alok Sinha, Director General, ICFA,
  • C P Shoran, Executive Director, ICA.
  1. The chairman of the summit was:  M. S. Swaminathan, Architect of India’s Green Revolution.
  2. M.S. Swaminathan was presented with first World Agriculture Prize by Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu.It is instituted by the Indian Council of Food and Agriculture (ICFA) at a special session, named Swaminathan Global Dialogue on Climate Change and Food Security.
  3. Along with the summit, the presentation of 11th Global Leadership Awardsand the launch of Agriculture Year Book 2018 was also done.

The awards

The institution of the Agriculture Leadership Awards was done in 2008 and is given  annually in different categories to individuals and organizations for outstanding contributions in their respective fields.

The National Awards Committee is headed by the world renowned agriculture scientist, Prof. MS Swaminathan, with twenty six persons of national eminence as its members.

The awardees are as follows:

Award Category Winner
Life Time Achievement Award for 2018 Padamsree Dr. KH Gharda
International Leadership Award Prof. Rudy Rabbinge, Special Envoy – Food Security, Government of Netherlands
Research Leadership Award National Research Development Corporation
Policy Leadership Award Shri N. Chandrababu Naidu, CM of Andhra Pradesh
Academic Leadership Award Indian Institute of Management,Ahmedabad
Best Fisheries State Award State of Jharkhand
Best Animal Husbandry State Award State of Bihar
Best Horticulture State Award State of Nagaland
Best Agriculture State Award State of Gujarat
Program Leadership Award The State Horticulture Mission, Govt. of Haryana

Headquarters: New Delhi.

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /var/www/wp-content/themes/univero/template-parts/author-bio.php on line 3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube