Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 343

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 343
Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore,tnpsc,coaching center,bank exam centres,UPSC


The Women’s Boxing World Championships, to be hosted by India after more than a decade, will be held from November 15-24, 2018, in New Delhi. 

“The AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships will be held in New Delhi in November 13-25,” an official of the International Boxing Association (AIBA)

The marquee tournament was last held in India in 2006 and remains the best for the country in terms of performance. India had topped the medal tally with four gold, three silver and one bronze medal.

The celebrated M C Mary Kom, who has been nicknamed ‘Magnificent Mary’ by the AIBA, will be gunning for a sixth world title at the event which would conclude with the finals on November 24.

She won successive gold medals in 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2010 editions.

The deadline for registration in the AIBA Database to the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships is October 5.

In the last edition of the event, India won just a silver, through Sonia Lather in the featherweight (57kg) category.

The first edition of the women’s world championship was held in the Unites States in Scranton in 2001.

All participating countries would be required to land in New Delhi before November 13.

All boxers must be accompanied by at least one AIBA certified coach at ringside during the bouts. 


The AIBA World Boxing Championships and the AIBA Women’s World Boxing Championships are biennial amateur boxing competitions organised by the International Boxing Association (AIBA), which is the sport governing body.

Alongside the Olympic boxing programme, it is the highest level of competition for the sport.

The championships was first held in 1974 Havana, Cuba as a men’s only event and the first women’s championships was held over 25 years later in 2001.

The men’s and women’s competitions are held separately and since 2006 the biennial championships have been held in alternating years.

The number of weight categories was reduced from twelve to eleven in 2003 with the removal of the light middleweight division (71 kg).

In 2011 the weight categories went down to ten with the removal of the featherweight division (57 kg)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.