Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore,tnpsc,coaching center,bank exam centres,UPSC


Nari Shakti Puraskar (formally Stree Shakti Puraskar) (Women Power Award) is a series of India’s national honours conferred on individual women for their exceptional achievement.

Nari Shakti Puraskar, the Highest Civilian Honour for Women in India. The coveted Award is conferred on those exceptional Women and Institutions who have been working incessantly towards the cause of Women Empowerment.

The award is given in six categories, by the Ministry of Women and Child DevelopmentGovernment of India.

It recognises the spirit of courage of a woman in difficult circumstances, who has established this spirit of courage in her personal or professional life.

Instituted in 1991, the award is conferred by the President on the occasion of International Women’s Day, 8 March every year at New Delhi.

The award carries a cash prize of rupees one lakh (Rs. 100,000) and a certificate.


The award is named after eminent women in Indian history, and is given in the following categories:

Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar Award: named after Ahilyabai Holkar, 18th-century ruler of Malwa kingdom

Kannagi Award: named after Kannagi, a legendary Tamil woman

Mata Jijabai Award: named after Mata Jijabai, mother of Shivaji, who founded the Maratha Empire in the 17th century

Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award: named after Rani Gaidinliu, a 20th-century Naga spiritual and political leader

Rani Lakshmi Bai Award: named after Rani Lakshmi Bai, the Queen of Jhansi

Rani Rudramma Devi Award (for both men and women): named after Rudrama Devi, a 13th-century ruler of Deccan Plateau



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube