Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
Gandhi Awards - Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore
Gandhi Awards


What’s in news?

President of India Presents International Gandhi Awards for Leprosy

Key data’s:

  • The International Gandhi Awards for Leprosy were presented to Dr N.S. Dharmashaktu under the Indian nomination (individual) category and the Leprosy Mission Trust under the institutional category.
  • The International Gandhi Award for Leprosy was constituted by the Gandhi Memorial Leprosy Foundation.
  • Gandhi Memorial Leprosy Foundation, a pioneering organisation established in 1951 in the field of leprosy in India, has instituted the award titled “International Gandhi Award” in 1986.
  • The International Gandhi Awards for Leprosy commemorates the compassion that Mahatma Gandhi possessed and his services towards people with leprosy.
  • The awards aim to recognize the outstanding work by individuals and organisations to fight leprosy and eliminate the prejudices associated with it.
  • In 2019, Yohei Sasakawa of Japan was honoured with the Gandhi Peace Prize for his efforts to eliminate Leprosy in India and work towards the welfare of leprosy patients.
  • In 2018, the Indian government had recognized Damodar Ganesh Bapat with Padma Shri in 2018 for his work with Leprosy patients in Chhattisgarh.

Mahatma Gandhi and leprosy:

  • Mahatma Gandhi had evinced keen interest for over 50 years in mitigating the sufferings of persons affected by leprosy.
  • The need to shed stigma against leprosy and adopt a humanitarian approach were amply demonstrated by the Father of Nation by nursing and caring leprosy patients.
  • Leprosy work was accorded importance by Gandhiji by including it in his 18-point constructive programme.
  • To perpetuate memory of this service and scientific approach of Gandhiji, the GMLF has instituted the “International Gandhi Award” in 1986.


  • The Award is presented once in two years and consists of Rs. 2 lakhs as cash award, a Medallion and a Citation.

Number of awards:

  • Two awards are presented either to individuals or institutions.


  • The Award is given to a Leprosy Worker or Institution who/which has undertaken work in the field of leprosy for a period of not less than 10 years and made significant contribution in any aspect of leprosy work, resulting in the amelioration of the suffering of leprosy patients and enabling them to lead normal life.
  • The Award is open to medical, paramedical or non-medical and social workers in leprosy field.
  • The candidate has to be nominated by a person of prominence in the field of leprosy. Posthumous nominations will not be accepted.

Selection procedure:

  • Nominations received are referred to an International Panel of Experts constituted by GMLF.
  • The panel assigns a score in the scale of 1 to 5 to each nominee. The GMLF Committee peruses the recommendations of the Expert panel and prepares a short list of 3 nominees.
  • The Award Committee under the Chairmanship of Hon’ble vice-President of India finalizes two names for presentation of the Award.

Links to note:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube