Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
AWARD - Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore


Key data’s:

  • Efforts need to be taken for strengthening the District Skilling ecosystem.
  • Reviewing the Ministry’s World Bank loan assisted “Skills Acquisition and Knowledge Awareness for Livelihood Promotion (SANKALP)” programme at the first Program Governance Board Meeting.
  • It was informed that all 36 States/ UTs across country have submitted their consent for participation in SANKALP and a total of first year grants released by Ministry to 9 States.


  • The Sankalp is a project to channelize the skill, experience and time available with Central Government Pensioners into meaningful social intervention. It also facilitates the organizations working in these areas to select appropriate skill and expertise from the available pool of volunteer – pensioners. It is an initiative of the Department of Pension & Pensioners’ Welfare, Government of India.
  • Pensioners can submit the pensioner registration form on Sankalp portal.
  • The requirements for registration are;
    • 12 digit pension payment order (PPO) for Central Government civilian pensioners
    • Service number
    • Rank and record office for retired defence personnel
    • Personal details like Date of Birth, Date of Superannuation, PAN Number and Mobile Number.



What’s in news?

NDTV journalist Ravish Kumar has won the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019. 

Key data’s:

  • One among the five individuals, Indian journalist Ravish Kumar has been awarded the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award for “harnessing journalism to give voice to the voiceless”.
  • The four other winners of the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award are Ko Swe Win from Myanmar, Angkhana Neelapaijit from Thailand, Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab from Philippines and Kim Jong-Ki from South Korea.

Ramon Magsaysay Award:

  • Ramon Magsaysay Award popularly known as ‘Asia’s Nobel Prize’, it is among the highest honours in the region.
  • Established in 1957.
  • The award is named after the 3rd president of Republic of Philippines Ramon Magsaysay who represented courage, integrity and idealism.
  • Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay facing right in profile
  • Other Indian winners of Ramon Magsaysay Award are – RK Laxman, P Sainath, Arun Shourie, Kiran Bedi and Arvind Kejriwal.


Links to note:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.