Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/framework/functions-wordpress.class.php on line 258

Deprecated: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/js_composer/include/classes/core/class-vc-mapper.php on line 111

Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
8th Wonder of SCO – Shanmugam IAS Academy
8th Wonder of SCO


What’s in news?

The 182-meter tall Statue of Unity in Gujarat has been included in the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation’s ‘8 Wonders of SCO’ list.

Key data’s:

  • The inclusion of Statue of Unity in 8 Wonders of SCO means that the organization will now promote the tallest statue among member countries.
  • The Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd on December 5, 2019 informed that the tourist inflow at the World`s tallest statue on Narmada river – Statue of Unity outpaced that at the Statue of Liberty in the US.
  • The daily average tourist footfall at Statue of Unity during November 2019 reached 15,036, whereas Statue of Liberty attracts around 10,000 daily visitors on average.
  • It is noteworthy that the Statue of Liberty in the US is a 133-year old world-famous monument, whereas the Statue of Unity is just 13 months old.

The Statue of Unity:

  • The ‘Statue of Unity’, the world’s tallest statue, is a monumental tribute to Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, independent India’s first Home Minister as well as Deputy Prime Minister.
  • The statue was inaugurated in October 2018 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the occasion of Patel’s 143th birthday.
  • It is the world`s tallest statue with a height of (597 ft) 182 metres located on a river-facing the Sardar Sarovar Dam on river Narmada in Kevadiya colony.
  • It was designed by Indian sculptor Ram V. Sutar.
  • The Statue of Unity is also visible from space.

Shanghai Cooperation Organization:

  • The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is an international organization comprised of eight member countries from eurasia.
  • The eight member states of the SCO are India, Pakistan, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzsthan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.
  • Its main goal is to strengthen mutual trust and relations in our region and promote peace, security, and stability.

Eight Wonders:

  • The Wonders of SCO include archaeological and historical monuments of SCO. It includes
    • Statue of Unity in India
    • Daming Palace in China
    • Navruz Palace in Tajikistan
    • Mughals Heritage in Pakistan
    • Tamgaly Gorge in Kazakhstan
    • Po-i-Kalan Complex in Uzbekistan
    • The Golden Ring of Russia
    • Lahore, the Mughals heritage in Pakistan

Links to note:

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /var/www/wp-content/themes/univero/template-parts/author-bio.php on line 3

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube