Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425

Notice: Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/visitors-online/visitors-online.php on line 425
Shanmugam IAS academy in coimbatore,tnpsc,coaching center,bank exam centres,UPSC

The 27th BASIC Ministerial Meeting on Climate Change was held in New Delhi, India, on 19-20 November 2018. The meeting was chaired by H.E. Dr Harsh Vardhan, Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change of India and attended by H.E. Mr. Edson Duarte, Minister of the Environment of Brazil, H.E. Mr. Xie Zhenhua, Special Representative for Climate Change Affairs of China, Dr Tsakani Ngomane, Deputy Director General for Climate Change, Air Quality and Sustainable Development, Department of Environmental Affairs of South Arica.

Concern for climate change

The BASIC Ministers emphasized their deep concern for climate change and reaffirmed their commitment to the successful implementation of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), its Kyoto Protocol and its Paris Agreement, and to promote a global green and low carbon transition and ecological civilization with a view to building a community with a shared future for mankind.

They reiterated that the Paris Agreement is a significant step for advancing global action against climate change, based on the recognition of the needs and special circumstances of developing countries in accordance with the principles of Equity and Common But Differentiated Responsibilities and Respective Capabilities (CBDR-RC), in the light of different national circumstances. They emphasized that global climate action should promote Climate Justice and a Just Transition by recognizing the fundamental equality of all people in accessing economic growth and sustainable development.

Ministers welcomed the 184 ratifications, to date, of the Paris Agreement adopted under the UNFCCC. They called on all remaining Parties to the UNFCCC to join the Agreement as soon as possible.


Ministers reiterated their commitment to work together with all Parties in an open, transparent, inclusive and Party-driven manner to achieve a balanced and comprehensive outcome to finalize the Paris Agreement Work Programme (PAWP) at COP 24, fulfilling the mandate agreed in COP 22, that sets the groundwork for the implementation of the Paris Agreement.

Findings of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

  • Ministers took note of the findings of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Special Report on global warming of 1.5 °C, which highlights the high vulnerability of developing countries to climate change effects and high resultant costs of adaptation.
  • Ministers recalled that the Paris Agreement aims to limit the temperature rise to well under 2°C, and aspires to limit it to 1.5°C, recognizing that countries will need to act expeditiously to achieve this aim based on the principles of Equity and CBDR-RC, in the light of different national circumstances.
  • They urged developed countries to provide adequate and predictable means of implementation to developing countries to enable them to enhance their climate ambition.

Work Being Undertaken

  • The Ministers noted the work being undertaken by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) and International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) on climate change.
  • They recognized the importance of efforts to address greenhouse gas emission reductions in the international aviation and shipping sector and emphasized the cooperation of BASIC countries in those fora.
  • Ministers underlined that such efforts must complement the UNFCCC, its Kyoto Protocol and its Paris Agreement and conform to their key principles, in particular Equity and CBDR-RC.
  • Ministers welcomed the offer of Brazil to host the 28th BASIC Ministerial Meeting in the first half of 2019.

The BASIC countries

The BASIC countries (also Basic countries or BASIC) are a bloc of four large newly industrialized countries – Brazil, South Africa, India and China – formed by an agreement on 28 November 2009.

The four committed to act jointly at the Copenhagen climate summit, including a possible united walk-out if their common minimum position was not met by the developed nations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Shop Youtube